top of page

The Babadook

All around the horror community there is the babadook buzz. I was excited to watch this film because the hype surrounding it was intense with statements like:

"Terrifies from first to final frame" "There goes your peaceful nights sleep. " "An expertly unsettling horror movie"

I hoped this was all it was said to be.

Perhaps it just couldn't live up to my high hopes these days.

The movie is about a fragile family; a widowed, overworked mother and a child who needs extra care. The child is already afraid of monsters when a creepy children's book appears on the shelf.

Without spoiling the film for you further... I did like the movie but its not something I will watch again.

The acting was superb. I hope to see these two in movies again. The creepy children's book? The rhymes are catchy and the drawings are very sinister.

The film overall was just another classic family battles said entity type. I was hoping for something a little more than that overdone trope.

I couldn't understand why such an overused plot had a 98% positive rating on Rotten Tomatoes. With that said, after reading other reviews on the film apparently the Babadook was supposed to be a metaphor completely. Perhaps I was just wanting to be thrilled and not wanting to read between the lines? Damn artsy films.

What did you really think?

Best horror movie in a while or just a good watch?

Scare Factor: A creepy book and some uncomfortable scenes... Rating: ❤❤❤


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page