top of page

Green Inferno


The Green Inferno is Eli Roth's new horror film that takes horror out of America and to the Amazon rain forest. The movie was inspired by the infamous film, Cannibal Holocaust and it was pretty obvious those were the roots of this film.

A group of activist college students go to the rain forest to tie themselves to some trees and upon a series of terrible events, end up in the custody of a secluded, primitive jungle tribe.

The entire movie held my attention and kept me guessing. I found it to be a quite unpredictable even though it felt like I had been here before.

The movie is about a different type of horror... the horror that all monsters are human... the horror that there are situations you cannot escape or explain yourself... the horror once you realize that you have made a series of irreversible bad choices... the horror of knowing there is no hope. You aren't feeling scared with this film... but mildly uncomfortable with what you are seeing for 2 hours.

The only thing I didn't like or would have changed is the ending. Feel free to let me know what you think of this too. SPOILER ALERT; I don't understand why she protected the tribe? Would you have protected your captors? It she being a humanitarian and protecting this piece of the world? Is it just because she saw good and humanity in the little boy? Also, I think it is a cop out that Alejandro may have made it out. They should have closed the door and ended it after her statement.

Anyhow, I was very interested in the movie. I love taking horror to a new land and showing a new culture. I would recommend watching for sure but I don't think I will end up being a horror staple.

Overall Ratings-- Scare Factor: Uncomfortable, violent scenes and suspense throughout, not so scary Rating: ❤❤❤


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page