top of page

American Horror Story: Coven


American Horror Story: Coven is now on Netflix. Some might say I'm a little late in the game on this one but I don't have cable so I usually miss the boat. This should explain why most of these posts are Netflix recommendations.

I have watched season one and two previously. I was not a huge fan. The shows seemed disorganized and I ended up using the shows as background music while I did housework or cooked. I expected this season to be the same way. I started the series and by the second episode, I paused. I left the rest for Brad and I to watch together because I was impressed.

The show takes place in the mysterious southern city of New Orleans. What captured me initially was the story included the historical characters of Madame LaLaurie and Marie Laveau; intertwining evil, voodoo and witchcraft (or some say bitchcraft).

The coven is a small group of teenage witches, Delia their 'teacher' and

As far as horror goes, the show was not particularly scary. It had its scenes of gore and torture but that doesn't seem unusual from a television show these days; looking back on Sons of Anarchy, Dexter, CSI and more. There are ghosts and creatures but nothing to really give you nightmares... if thats what you are searching for.

The show was a very intriguing bitchcraft soap opera and worthy of binge watching. (I found myself compromising precious sleep to watch just another episode every night)

And, even more reason I need to see New Orleans for myself soon.

Scare Factor: Not so scary, but I was in it for the story. Rating: ❤❤❤❤


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page